Bio-Inspired Buildings: Integrating Building Systems and Biological Systems Theories to Transform the Built Environment

Contact Information:
Michael Garvin
Assoc Dir of MLSoC / Assoc Professor
Via Dept. of Civil & Environmental Engineering
113C Patton Hall

Phone: (540) 231-7255
E-mail: garvin@vt.edu

Web site: biobuild.mlsoc.vt.edu

We propose to develop a doctoral program that answers the pressing societal need for professionals with the interdisciplinary expertise necessary to create buildings and communities that are in fact bioinspired.  Such graduates will have an immediate impact in university and industrial settings, and they will change the relationship between the built environment and our planet.  We will do this through a radical shift in how we understand buildings by bringing together faculty from departments in CAUS, CNRE, COE and COS and collaborating with interdisciplinary university centers such as the CMI, to develop a program that explores building systems and biological systems synergistically to discover innovative connections between these two fields.

The specific goals are to: (1) create and sustain a PhD program at the confluence of buildings and biology whose students will undergo a transformation as they progress from a disciplinary perspective to one where their views are naturally and inherently tied to the phenomena and tools that they have studied in an interdisciplinary environment; (2) produce graduates who obtain highly competitive academic and industry positions because their abilities to view grand challenges in the built and natural environments through an interdisciplinary lens gives them a competitive edge; and (3) place Virginia Tech as a global thought leader in this emerging area.
 

Michael Garvin

Department:
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Role: PI
Email: garvin@vt.edu
 
Ignacio Moore

Department:
Biological Sciences
Role: Core
Email: itmoore@vt.edu
 
Rolf Mueller

Department:
Mechanical Engineering
Role: Core
Email: rolf.mueller@vt.edu
 
John Taylor

Department:
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Role: Core
Email: jet@vt.edu
 
Annie Pearce

Department:
Building Construction
Role: Core
Email: apearce@vt.edu
 
Georg Reichard

Department:
Building Construction
Role: Core
Email: reichard@vt.edu
 
Art Buikema

Department:
Biological Sciences
Role: Core
Email: buik@vt.edu
 
Deb Dickerson

Department:
Myers-Lawson School of Construction
Role: Co-PI
Email: dyoung@vt.edu
 
Amy Brunner

Department:
Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation
Role: Affiliated
Email: abrunner@vt.edu
 
Brook Kennedy

Department:
Industrial Design
Role: Affiliated
Email: brook.kennedy@vt.edu
 
Daniel Hindman

Department:
Wood Science and Forest Products
Role: Affiliated
Email: dhindman@vt.edu
 
Ishwar Puri

Department:
Engineering Science and Mechanics
Role: Affiliated
Email: ikpuri@vt.edu
 
Patrick Miller

Department:
Architecture
Role: Affiliated
Email: pmiller@vt.edu
 
Robert Schubert

Department:
Architecture
Role: Affiliated
Email: silver@vt.edu
 
Shashank Priya

Department:
Mechanical Engineering
Role: Affiliated
Email: spriya@vt.edu